body work over old paint?

-

swifty

Reaction score
I know this is not a mopar but with all your knowledge I know I will get good advice. I have a 49 Chevy Fleetline that was my grampa's car. The paint is original and there is very little chipping. We don't plan on making a show car out of it just something that looks good driving down the street and something my dad can drive in the local parade.

I was planning on getting it blasted but all the mess and work I'm wondering about using the original paint as a base. Also what about where body work is needed? Should it be taken down to bare metal and if so should the whole panel be stripped? I have very little body work experience. The front fenders are getting blasted because I have replacements. The hood and roof are in very good shape and make up alot of the car. The passenger side is good and needs very little body work. The passenger side need most of the work and both rear wheel wells need some patch work. But overall it has little rust for being 65 years old. It was stored inside since 1973. I can post pics when I get a chance.

Generally you should take down to bare metal any of the areas that will need to be straightened or filled. And as long as the vehicle hasn't been re-painted before you're usually safe not stripping the whole thing. USUALLY is the key word. There is no uniform guarantee that old paint won't lift. - And the old paint can be hiding a lot of whatever might be underneath it. The surest bet is to know for sure what you're dealing with. If there are any indications of problems with the adhesion of the current paint, I'd strip it. If everything seems OK (no adhesion issues, not too many coats of paint already on the car, excessive chalking, etc...) then it comes down to trying to balance out the time/expense with just how nice you want the results to be. For a daily driver that's going to be used in winter, on gravel or as a hauler/grocery getter I'd probably not strip.