Bullitt wheel information

-

1973dust

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I'm posting this all in one place for those that might be considering using these wheels. I realize the look is not for everyone. I actually prefer the deeper dish of the older mags myself but, for the money, I think these worked out pretty well. They are factory 17 x 8 Ford wheels off of a 2005 Mustang. These are 45mm offset which is 6.272" backspacing. The factory 2004 and earlier wheels are also 17 x 8 but are only 30mm offset 5.681 backspacing. Unfortunately, the early and late wheels do not look exactly the same. For my application, the shallower backspace was not going to be enough for the rear even though it works better on the front. I list the car specs below to try to make this as easy to read as possible. You will have to open up the center bore of the wheels slightly to fit a Mopar hub. Even though I am a machinist by trade and have access to the proper equipment, I ended up carefully sanding the center bore with a Dremel sanding roll. I was afraid of damaging the pretty side of the wheels if I attempted to set them up at work to bore them. I also found that the Gorilla brand lug nuts pictured work well with the Bullitt wheels.

Rear Axle - Factory big-bolt 7 1/4" with 1.75" bolt-on spacer on each side. This will be replaced with an 8 1/4" from a 93 Cherokee which will give me a full 2" per side over the factory axle with no spacers
used. The Cherokee axle is the reason I needed to use the wheels with the deeper backspace. I currently have 7/16 - 1/2" clearance to the leaf springs and at least 3/4" to the quarter lips with
235/55 R17 tires. When I need new tires in a few years, I will go with a 255 which will fit the 8" rims and should clear everywhere with the additional 1/4" of width per side the Cherokee axle
gives me. Pic below of the 610-475 Dorman wheel studs I'm using on the Jeep axle compared to the factory stud.