Car Building Philosophy ?-long!

-

jeeper

Reaction score
I have been collecting alot of stuff to build my 73 Duster. I have collected alot of information here. Lots of books, most of which I have read.

Parts, lots there as well. Lately I have collected a 360, speed parts for it, some drivetrain pieces as well. I almost wonder if I have gone to far.

I was hoping for a high 13 second car for now. I have driven cars that truthfully were probably 15 second cars before. Not very exciting.

As I am preparing to remove weight, install 4.10's and a 3K stall I am wondering.....have I gone to far before I have even started?

I pay alot of attention to those who have trod the road before me. I talked to a guy at the track who had a 13 second flat car. He drove it everywhere. He wanted to go faster. He now has a 12.5 second car that idles over 1000 rpm, won't hardly go 60 and gets mid single digits for mpg. He hates it....

As a teacher I always preach the big P when modifying a car. What is your purpose? What do you want?

I know what happens when I whack up a Jeep, been there forever.

What started this whole thing is this morning I started my car, a bone stock 318 and it went on a nice high idle. It is relatively quiet. Super reliable, fairly snappy I guess. I'm asking, do I want to mess this up? The first half decent old car that I have had?

Wow, what a ramble.

Here is my question, have you ever "ruined a car" with mods and wished you have left it alone?

At this point, I almost considering two cars. One a stripped out borderline strip car that I can drive on the street. Another, more of a Cruiser.

Thoughts? Hate mail? Tell me to shut up?

Thanks as always, ROB

Rob,
I went through the same thing when I decided to build a big block a-body. The original thought was lots of horsepower, etc. etc. I got the car body (67 Dart GT with no engine or trans) and started to collect parts. As the process wore on the build got milder and milder.