complete 383 build

-

wyomingduster

Reaction score
So I am at the point in project where it comes to rebuild the engine. The problem that comes to play is I have no idea where to start. A shop will be assembling it but I will have to supply the parts. Would anyone be willing to help me with the build? As far as the parts that will be needed, which brands are best, and sizes and all that. Everything from rockers to heads to pistons to a cam. I have a 69 383 block that has been bored .060 and the freeze plugs and the cam bearings have been installed. The engine will be going in a 73 duster. My goal is around the mid 500 rang for tq and HP. A little more or less is no biggy. I will be placing a big order in the next few days. Cost plays in no effect. I appreciate the help. This is my first project so I am new to this.

Mid 500hp will be a problem in a 383,
You will need custom pistons, CR is hard to get with over counter pistons. I would stroke it to the max 499ci

Diamond makes OTC slugs that come close to the deck, so you can get zero with decking. But honestly, if you're looking to make 500 out of an N/A 383, get ready to cam it up a good bit (probably solid) with some well prepped heads...I've done some reading on this, and you can do it, but you're looking at about 1.3hp/ci+

Have you entertained going stroker?

Do your goals include shooting for 10s in the 1/4?

Mid 500hp will be a problem in a 383,
You will need custom pistons, CR is hard to get with over counter pistons. I would stroke it to the max 499ci

Agreed. OP, Check out 440source stroker kits.

Is this going to be a strip only car, or will there be any street duty?

One ting to consider is street performcance you want drivable power. Big cubic inch allows this.

Strip only, big cubes are eaier to make big power. The stroker is a win win.