Cowl repair

-

bbeep71

Reaction score
Under the cowl where the heater boxes install under the dash there are some small rust holes. How can I fix these holes without welding patches from inside the car?? The car is a 66 Cuda.
Thanks

I'm doing the right and left side cowl. I had to cut "windows" in the outer cowl, then cut out the areas in the "inner". I'm welding in new "collar" sections. Its a big big crappy job.

Small holes, means the rot is much bigger than the hole. a quick temp fix is to use asphalt roof sealant (from a caulk tube) and seal it from underneath. You'll still have to drop the heater box and vent box to do it.

Once sealed from underneath; make sure you clean out the cowl as much as possible with compress air, vacuum and whatever else you can think of. You can then pour some gastank sealant into the cowl slits, and hope that seals the topsides of the pinholes. I've never done it, but considered it before doing the big cut job.

good luck. BTW: my work is on a 65. But the only real way to fix it is to cut it out.

Under the cowl where the heater boxes install under the dash there are some small rust holes. How can I fix these holes without welding patches from inside the car?? The car is a 66 Cuda.
Thanks

I feel your pain! I'm working this issue on a 66 cuda as we speak. there isnt really a good way of going about it. I agree with Swing69 things are more pitted and rusted than what your seeing. I've got my cowl removed / split and have 3 different cowl sections and trying to piece one good one together. I dont know......... Waggin, may have a few more replacement sections, he sold me a pretty decent cowl a little while back.

If your just looking to try to get the pin holes covered if its possible to scuff or sand the affected area (from the inside of the cowl) , JB weld it & POR 15 over that may bond well enough to seal it up although it probably wouldnt last forever.
Joe