degree wheel question

-

coffeedart67

Reaction score
Plan on getting a new (stock replacement)harmonic balancer for my 67 273, and from what I have read I will have to use the one for a newer 318(timing on drivers side), so I will do the degree wheel thing with a tdc stop, to find out where to mark the new harmonic balancer. I have a small degree wheel, mopar performance wheel recomended to degree a cam on a 2.2. Will this degree wheel work or will I want a bigger one?

Thanks
Aaron

If all you want to do is determine the new TDC mark or if it's correct, you don't even need a degree wheel at all.

Just use a piston stop. If the head(s) are off the engine, you can make one with a piece of strap steel or "angle iron" stiff enough that it won't bend. Drill a hole to match two head bolts, and put a hole in the center over the piston. Put a bolt in there with two nuts so you can adjust the height somewhat, like this:

pisnstop.gif

If the heads are on, you can buy or make one. Here's one I made 30 years ago for a smallblock Mopar:

attachment.php

attachment.php

The length on these is not all that critical. You want the piston "down" somewhat as the closer to the top you get, the slower the piston moves compared to the crank, and the less accuracy you get.

Simply wrench the engine around until the piston stops against the device. You may have to adjust the length and again you want the piston "down" some. When the piston stops, make a temporary mark directly below TDC on your timing tab onto the balancer. Use a pencil, and be careful and accurate

Now rotate the engine CCW and make a second mark.

Now you'll have two marks some distance apart, and true TDC will be halfway between. If you have the correct balancer/ timing cover combination, that is where the original will be