disc spindle gasket

-

str12-340

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
So this is my first time rebuilding KH discs. They are on my 70 Dart. There are the remains of a foam gasket between the spindle and the dust shield. It looks to be a triangular gasket that has holes for the 3 bolts. Like I said, these were really degraded so it's hard to tell what they looked like originally. DMT sells foam gaskets that they say fit drum and disc systems and they are a round gasket with a round hole in the middle. It is hard to tell if you could just use them and push the bolts through once the spindle locates the gasket or whether I need something specific that looks more like what I removed. Any of you brake gurus have some info for me?

All that i ever have done is just cut out your own from packaging foam material.
Or.
Many just use a thin film of silicone between the spindle, and backing plate.
Just personal preference what you wind up doing.

KH Brakes 65-72 #2 012 (Small).JPG

So this is my first time rebuilding KH discs. They are on my 70 Dart. There are the remains of a foam gasket between the spindle and the dust shield. It looks to be a triangular gasket that has holes for the 3 bolts. Like I said, these were really degraded so it's hard to tell what they looked like originally. DMT sells foam gaskets that they say fit drum and disc systems and they are a round gasket with a round hole in the middle. It is hard to tell if you could just use them and push the bolts through once the spindle locates the gasket or whether I need something specific that looks more like what I removed. Any of you brake gurus have some info for me?
I would just use a thin bead of silicone and bolt it on. Remember that when those were first assembled there was no silicone sealants. Another thought, how many other makes put similar assemblies together with nothing in there and they function just fine.
The point being, whatever floats your boat and works for you.