Disk Caliper wont go back on

-

72Ruster

Reaction score
72 Duster with front discs:

Pulled the car into my garage to do the wheel bearings today. First side was a pain in the ***, broke the transfer tube somehow and had to fab one up, the wheel on that side seems to be dragging the brakes. Barely turns, finger tight on the retainer nut and cotter pin in. Spins fine without the caliper. I did not disconnect the flexible hose. (Should I have?)

The the next one went pretty smooth until i had a problem with the cotter pin and lock nut. It seems like the cotter pin had to go in at an angle like the nut wasnt going far enough. Checked the races of the bearings but they seem in there.

MY MAIN ISSUE: The caliper wont line up with the mounting points on the back. I tried compressing the pads. but it just seems off, like its not even very close. Messed with it for about an hour and now my back is killing me. Please help me. Im new to Mopar and haven't worked on old cars in many years.

It seems like the cotter pin had to go in at an angle like the nut wasnt going far enough. Checked the races of the bearings but they seem in there.

IMO
take it apart,check to be sure the seals are correct and seated deep enough. If they are, then;clean out the grease , knock out the races and verify that what you put in, is the same as what you took out, and that the cones properly fit in the cups. While they are out you can verify that there is not something at the bottom of the bores that is preventing the bearing races from seating, especially the inner one;on account of that could cause both of your problems. In my experience with those brakes, there has always been ALMOST TOO MUCH room for the cotterpin.
If you didn't change the pads, then you should not have had to push the pistons back in, other than to clear the ridge at the outer diameters of the rotor. That should have been a clue.
Pushing all 4 pistons back in evenly can be a chore.