Do I need to re-jet my Thermoquad?

-

Bill Crowell

Reaction score
Do you think I should re-jet and re-rod my Thermoquad 6518 (an industrial model with the 1-1/2" primary bores)? Here are the results of two A/F ratio tests.

The engine sure seems like it's running too lean, and I'm getting quite a bit of detonation on 91 octane under light-ish acceleration. It's an LA 360 with "J" heads (ported), 10.5:1 compression, 2.02" intake valves, Edelbrock Performer intake (match ported), Comp Cams 20-243-4 cam (244 degrees at .050; .501" lift), and a Mallory YH distributor.

The air/fuel ratio seems too high, but some mechanics are telling me that I shouldn't re-jet because the CO numbers are low. I don't understand that because I'm a complete tuning newbie!

If the consensus seem to be that I should re-jet, then I'm going to have to disassemble the carburetor to see what jets and rods I've got now (I forget what they are), and will then probably bug you guys for specific recommendations on what jets and rods to buy. (I haven't disassembled it yet because the car is a daily driver.) I figured I should try to get the mixture right before trying to do a custom advance curve.

Is anybody aware of a video or article about how to choose the correct jets and rods on a TQ?
Thanks for now.

AF ratio test 1.jpg

AF ratio test 2.jpg

It was probably an ad, I just clicked on it again and it works for me.
You can also search( mopar air fuel ratio for power ) and it should come up
Let me know.

It was probably an ad, I just clicked on it again and it works for me.
You can also search( mopar air fuel ratio for power ) and it should come up
Let me know.

No, it's smog-exempt due to age.

What I meant was, the author of that article went into about zero details concerning how to tune your A/F ratio.