Early 64/65 A833 to later gear conversion?

-

tomswheels

Reaction score
I have a 1965 A833 with the 3.09 first gear, I want to convert it to the lower numerically 1st gear of the 66+ cars. Is this possible? Will I have to gut the entire case and start over with every gear set and input shaft from a donor trans? Oh and I want to convert it to non-ball/trunnions as well. Thanks in advance I'm new to these fancy 4 spd thingies...

Yes, it is possible, but you need the entire gear set including the cluster gear. If you want the slip yoke, now you are talking mainshaft and tail housing. If you go with the small 66 67 A body mainshaft and tail housing, they are not too expensive. Sometimes you can find a C or B body trans cheap for the donor gears. I'm not sure you will be able to see much of a difference for your time and money.

So no way to modify my tail shaft housing to slip yoke? Does anyone want to trade any 66+ later non-OD trans (A,B, E, C body whatever) for my ball/trunion A?

I love that 3.09L gearset. I put it in a B-body Box, Formula S clone.
Pardon my curiosity, but what is/are your reasons for giving it up?

For the Autocross racing I'm doing, I need a first gear that can pull 40-50 MpH...

Ok, I get that.
Is there a reason, for not swapping rears instead?
-I took the liberty of doing some math, and found that 3.55s gets you about 48mph at 6500rpm.The overall starter ratio of 3.09X3.55 =10.97. If you were to use the 2.66 ratio, then 10.97/2.66=4.12s
The difference in the lows is about 16%. This equates to a change from 3.55s to 4.12 which rounds to 4.10s. Of course a substitution to 3.91s. would knock off about 300rpm or give you a few more mph.I would hazzard a guess that you have already done all this math, so Im thinking theres more to the story than just the low gear thing?
A simple change from 3.55s to 3.23s, would get you 48 mph at about 6000rpm, with the 3.09 low.

Ok, I get that.
Is there a reason, for not swapping rears instead?