Early A dual reservoir conversion

-

Claydart

MOPAR to the very bones
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hi, I did a master cylinder upgrade to a dual master, but I feel like I don't have enough pressure to stop the car quickly if I had to. The brakes were bled, and it seems to have a high enough pedal, but when I try to apply brakes I feel like there isn't enough stopping power. I also upgraded to a 8 3/4" rear end with 10" brakes recently. could it be that the piston is not large enough for the system? I'm thinking of doing a disc brake swap to help, but if there is not enough pressure for drums, will there be enough for discs?

You don't mention which dual master cylinder you used- they are not all created equal. There are different bore sizes, and later disc masters have reservoirs with larger capacity for disc brakes, as well as the use of residual valves in the MC circuit. There are also different proportioning valves/distribution blocks between disc and drum systems.
Each of these makes a difference in the operation of the system. We need more information on your setup.

The all drum masters differ from front disc masters.
I did front disc conversion and used the period correct master with the 15/16ths bore. Works fine.
Like The Professor asked, which size bore are you using?

Last edited:
Ok, I am using a Raybestos master for 67 dart, with 1" piston. the two reservoirs are not the same size, meaning that the one for the rear is smaller than the one for the front. Is this maybe a disc/drum master cylinder?

Ok, I am using a Raybestos master for 67 dart, with 1" piston. the two reservoirs are not the same size, meaning that the one for the rear is smaller than the one for the front. Is this maybe a disc/drum master cylinder?
Yes.