Engine Power

-

rustykey

Reaction score
I am new to mopar and my pops and I just purchased a 73 Swinger to rebuild. It has a 318/904 combo in it. I think the heads are stock. I have not even taken delivery yet. We want 325 to 350 HP out of it. Is that reasonable out of a 318? And what would you recommend I do to it to get that out of it. Also, how strong is the 904 tranny, anything special I should do to it. I am new to the mopar scene, always been a chevy guy so I don't know much about em except I like em. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Rusty

The 904 should hold up to it if it hasnt been beaten on over the years.

I would put in new pistons, Keith Black hypers are a good and cheap choice. The heads you can either have your cylinder heads worked on by a cylinder head guy or just buy a set of 302 heads (82 and up I believe). Have them cleaned up and do just a little work to them and bolt them on. Edelbrock Performer Intake with 650 carb. Also a CompCams hydraulic camshaft, they make a special type just for us Mopar guys using the stock valvetrain but I cant remember the name of them. You can reuse alot of original parts just as long as they arent broken, showing wear or stress and such. You can even use the original exhaust manifolds and just have them cleaned up. Go through the block and make sure you dont need any major machine work done to it. Possibly will need an over bore though.

B&S, pick a cam for the man. I like your idea so far. Good ideas. I'd look at a 340 replacement cam.

As far as getting a Mopar only cam lifter, the idea is to take advantage of the larger lifter area for a quicker riseing ramp to whip open the valve for better cylinder filling. And more as well. It is not really needed, but helpful in the HP search.

Yes, 350 HP is very reasonable and easy no less.