first timer on a dodge

-

73dartswngr

Reaction score
Hi just wondering if I have to loosen my torsion bars to remove upper and lower ball joints on a 73 swinger. This is my first time working with torsion bar suspension and was wondering if I had to loosen them or not. Thanks for the info.:cheers:

If you keep the car's weight on the lower control arm (ie: a block of cinder or wood there), you should be able to remove the ball joints...although, it would probably be safer to loosen them...just try and count how many revolutions you do of the torsion bar adjusting bolt, so you won't have to redo the front end alignment.

If I'm wrong, I'm sure someone will correct me.

If you keep the car's weight on the lower control arm (ie: a block of cinder or wood there), you should be able to remove the ball joints...although, it would probably be safer to loosen them...just try and count how many revolutions you do of the torsion bar adjusting bolt, so you won't have to redo the front end alignment.

If I'm wrong, I'm sure someone will correct me.

You are wrong. :violent1:

Just kiddin ya.

I just run the adjusters back up to the end of the clean threads so I don't have to count the turns. :)

The upper control arm is not spring loaded, so supporting the car on the bottom one to change them is a good way of doing it.

And 4x4's or cinder blocks work great, but I wouldn't trust it to stay on jackstands if I had to yank on the ball joints much.

You are wrong. :violent1:

Just kiddin ya.

I just run the adjusters back up to the end of the clean threads so I don't have to count the turns. :)

The upper control arm is not spring loaded, so supporting the car on the bottom one to change them is a good way of doing it.

And 4x4's or cinder blocks work great, but I wouldn't trust it to stay on jackstands if I had to yank on the ball joints much.

WHAT!!!...I'M WRONG????...NO WAY, YOU DON'T KNOW*&#$%.....Oops, sorry...Just read the "kidding" part....LOL....