First track run - less than exciting....

-

Rat Patrol

Reaction score
Basically I can sum it up like this....the Modman intake SUCKS with a Vac sec carb

Here's the beans.....

The problem only occurrs when I flat nail the pedal to the floor...a quick progressive press shows no issue.

Now Ive been tuning AFB and Thermoquad carbs for 30 years...so I know what Im doing....this issue is intake related.

Ive been struggling to get a massive lean out which occurs when you nail it for the last three weeks....jetting, air door tension , rods and springs have had little effect.

Going with a massively bigger pump shooter and stronger step up springs helped....but didnt eradicate it.

So I go to the track...nail it and the car just sits there like its waiting to fart!

Then all of a sudden it launches clean....no stumble.

So my best 60ft was a pathetic 1.9....and that was with a progressive throttle input.

The other issue is mph is down...most guys with my stick are running 111-113 mph.....I ran 109 @ 12.6 ( without the launch issue it would have been closer to 12.3)

So Ill be trying an 850 double pumper shortly....I suspect that huge Modman plenum needs more fuel that the AVS can deliver...especially at launch transition.

Either way I dont think the Modman is a very good design...

No bog when I nail it in 2nd or 1st gear on a roll....the car lifts its nose and flies....but ..it does lean out very slightly when I plant it in 3rd.

As I mentioned...I think the Modman plenum ( which is huge btw) needs more fuel on transition than the Carter can supply.

I mainly posted this so folk know what they're buying if they go the carb route.....

Kinda wish Id fitted a scoop and run a drag pack intake now...

No bog when I nail it in 2nd or 1st gear on a roll....it does lean out very slightly when I plant it in 3rd.

As I mentioned...I think the Modman plenum ( which is huge btw) needs more fuel on transition than the Carter can supply.