FiTech EFI system

Discussion in 'Fuel and Air Systems' started by 71duster06, Jul 24, 2015.

  1. superchargeddrt

    superchargeddrt FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    451
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pa.
    Local Time:
    11:07 AM
    Good job, I have to get some of the Velcro shielding this time around. I used aluminum foil encased in black woven wire casing last time, it was effective but not as pretty as I would have liked. Keep us informed and good luck.
     
  2. Coyote Jack

    Coyote Jack Member #55, I'm old FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,133
    Likes Received:
    1537
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Baxters Corner N.B. Canad
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    12:07 PM
    Where did you get the Velcro shielding from. I see some on Ebay but I'm not sure it's the right stuff. How much did you use?

    Jack
     
  3. subcom

    subcom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    263
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Location:
    South Florida
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    11:07 AM
    I used the Ebay stuff. I think this one. Metallic Heat Shield Sleeve Insulated Wire Hose Cover Wrap Loom Tube 3/4" 6 Ft | eBay

    I covered as much as possible. The entire length of the O2 lead cable, and the ignition cable going to my distributor I wrapped with that HVAC tape and then wrapped with wire loom. Not sure what ultimately cured the error code ills but after I wrapped those two items the fault codes went away.
     
  4. Coyote Jack

    Coyote Jack Member #55, I'm old FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,133
    Likes Received:
    1537
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Baxters Corner N.B. Canad
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    12:07 PM
    Thanks, got some ordered.

    Jack
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • SalC

      SalC Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      132
      Likes Received:
      27
      Joined:
      Jul 7, 2014
      Location:
      Downers Grove, IL
      Local Time:
      10:07 AM
      May have found the answer to the 90 deg connectors many have been requesting of FiTech. Found these on Digikey's website and ordered a few. The power connector is a bit longer and sticks out but it's better than original for those seeking a 90 deg solution...

      20180329_154309r.jpg

      20180329_154254r.jpg
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • matthon

        matthon Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,704
        Likes Received:
        72
        Joined:
        Aug 29, 2008
        Local Time:
        11:07 AM
        Those look perfect, do you have the Digi-key part numbers for those?
         
      • SalC

        SalC Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        132
        Likes Received:
        27
        Joined:
        Jul 7, 2014
        Location:
        Downers Grove, IL
        Local Time:
        10:07 AM
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        • MuuMuu101

          MuuMuu101 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,730
          Likes Received:
          126
          Joined:
          Jul 6, 2012
          Location:
          SoCal
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          8:07 AM
          I've got the money to make a jump on a Fitech in June, but I have some questions before I make the leap. This is what I got or am planning on getting. I even have a friend who is willing to give me a helping hand.

          Engine:
          408 Stroker with Forged internals. Camshaft is a custom hydraulic roller with either a 238/242 or a 242/246 (cam specs were lost). Milodon road race pan. Engine Quest heads ported by IMM. Edelbrock LD4B intake that's port matched to the Engine Quest heads. 1-inch carb spacer. MSD Ready-to-Run Distributor. 34 degrees of total timing. Not sure how much vacuum but I don't think it's much because I couldn't run the vacuum advance on my MSD distributor. Engine made 523 hp and 522 ft-lbs of torque on the engine dyno.

          My first question is, for a Fitech Fuel Injection system, should I switch out my LD4B for my Mopar M1 single plane intake? I will mostly be doing street/highway cruising but will autocross and road race the car. I know single plane intakes, generally, is meant for higher rpm operations, but I've heard of some people having trouble with the TBI fuel injections and dual plane intakes. Can the LD4B be a little too restrictive for my engine and do you think my 408 stroker would be more happy/forgiving with the M1 intake? A Fitech Rep told me that if I'm running 5-6" of vacuum I may need a laptop tune and that a single plane intake "may be more forgiving." I may be able to run the 1" spacer with the M1 intake.

          My next set of questions is with regards to the parts I was planning on purchasing:
          Fitech MeanStreet (800HP)
          Tanks Inc EFI Tank
          JakeFab Fuel Puck
          Aeromotive 11540 In-Tank Fuel Pump (340gph)
          Tanks Inc Sending Unit

          Am I missing any other parts I need to get? What do you guys recommend for fuel lines?
           
        • famous bob

          famous bob mopar misfit

          Messages:
          9,986
          Likes Received:
          2221
          Joined:
          Aug 14, 2011
          Location:
          okla
          Local Time:
          10:07 AM
          ---------------------------------------------------^^^^^^^^---------------------------------------------

          I have just figured this out to, but my non resistor plugs are working fine ! (fast 2.0 )
           
        • fklskv

          fklskv Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          774
          Likes Received:
          259
          Joined:
          Aug 14, 2011
          Location:
          Lackawanna, NY
          Local Time:
          11:07 AM
          So here is my update. When I switched to aluminum heads I forgot I put resistor plugs in so thats not my problem. DARN IT!!
           
        • subcom

          subcom Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,123
          Likes Received:
          263
          Joined:
          Sep 17, 2010
          Location:
          South Florida
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          11:07 AM
          I run the dual plane RPM Air Gap on my 1200PA with a single Turbo. My motor is no where near as powerful as yours N/A but I think the dual plane works fine with the Fitech and I find mine has very streetable manners. I will be switching to a single plane Victor 340 that I have on the shelf, but that's just to see if it improves at the track (1/8 mile). Not sure if it will hurt street manners or not.

          On your shopping list, make sure you run plenty of feed and return line. I have 1/2" (8an) feed and return on mine. They both terminate on an Aeromotive regulator. Good luck with the project.
           
        • MuuMuu101

          MuuMuu101 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,730
          Likes Received:
          126
          Joined:
          Jul 6, 2012
          Location:
          SoCal
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          8:07 AM
          Thank you for your response. Yeah, I'm still on the fence about the intake swap. Do you have a link of some of the line you use?
           
        • subcom

          subcom Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,123
          Likes Received:
          263
          Joined:
          Sep 17, 2010
          Location:
          South Florida
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          11:07 AM
          I originally did both feed and return with 1/2" Aluminum line and AN fittings from Speedway.

          Aluminum Fuel Line, 1/2 Inch O.D.

          Fitech says not to use aluminum line, but the Speedway stuff has a thick wall and can handle up to 250psi. I recently replaced my feed line with ptfe stainless braided 8an 'cause I needed to re-position my fuel pump nearer my sump but I still have the aluminum return line.
           
        • MuuMuu101

          MuuMuu101 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,730
          Likes Received:
          126
          Joined:
          Jul 6, 2012
          Location:
          SoCal
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          8:07 AM
          I'm thinking I'll leave the intake alone when I first start. That way I won't have to fiddle with timing or anything.

          Cool! Thanks for the link.
           
        • subcom

          subcom Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,123
          Likes Received:
          263
          Joined:
          Sep 17, 2010
          Location:
          South Florida
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          11:07 AM
          Yep, I would do the same. I had a ready to run distro on mine also and was really happy with it. I eventually went with a msd knock-off distro that I now control from the fitech. Good luck!
           
        • goldduster318

          goldduster318 Overzealous Car Modifier

          Messages:
          1,476
          Likes Received:
          80
          Joined:
          Aug 25, 2007
          Location:
          Lake Orion, MI
          Local Time:
          11:07 AM
          No need for 1/2" line with EFI until you get into the 650-700hp range. Mine made 470hp and I have 3/8 feed and return and there is no issue. Look at a factory production car, I can only think of the Hellcats having 1/2" line OE.

          I wouldn't use aluminum line on a street car since it is much easier to damage. Steel, or if that's too hard to bend, you can just do braided extruded teflon (aeroquip is the best). I used a reproduction 3/8" feed line for the feed and made my own section of return (and used the aeroquip braided teflon on the remaining sections where flex is needed). I doubt I'll ever have to mess with any of it.

          20150919_125122.jpg

          Also, you can pull the intake with the distributor in, or you can just mark it and stick it back right where it was, which is easy because of the screwdriver tip:
          20150921_092932.jpg
           
        • wireweld

          wireweld Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          534
          Likes Received:
          40
          Joined:
          Nov 4, 2006
          Location:
          South Dakota
          Local Time:
          10:07 AM
          I am using the rpm dual plane on a 416 with 1200 pa. Dynoed at 600 hp and 585 tq. 8 AN feed and 6 AN return, Ptfe hose.
           
        • famous bob

          famous bob mopar misfit

          Messages:
          9,986
          Likes Received:
          2221
          Joined:
          Aug 14, 2011
          Location:
          okla
          Local Time:
          10:07 AM
          I elected to run my lines inside the frame rail and thru the frame connectors, instead of going thru the tire well like the pic above. It was a bitch, cause I didn`t plan it that way to start with, wish I had.
           
        • Husker

          Husker New Member

          Messages:
          4
          Likes Received:
          0
          Joined:
          Apr 16, 2018
          Location:
          Colorado Springs
          Local Time:
          9:07 AM
          I have a 1971 360/automatic with a GoEFI 4 600hp, non-power adder. I went with the Tanks Inc fuel injection tank and Walbro in tank pump (255lph), 3/8 -6AN for supply and full return to tank. I have the Fitech white/ignition wire connected to the electric choke wire in the original harness. It runs well (much better than 750 Holley carburetor!) with the stock/original electronic ignition – with an Accel coil. I now want to make the switch for the Fitech to control the timing. I have a MSD 2-wire (part 8534 with mechanical advance locked out), MSD adjustable rotor, and MSD 8.5 plug wires. Now for the questions I have after reading the 60 previous pages of this post… All stem from the fact that replacing the dizzy requires ‘something’ to be the brains. It could be a 6AL, a ready-to-run, or in this case the Fietch, but I haven’t found clear instructions for the stock-to-Fitech conversion.

          1) The Fitech has the leads and connector to go into the new MSD dizzy – what do I do with the original dizzy wires that came from the ECU (orange box)?

          2) What do I do with the ballast wires (start/brown and run/blue)? Some say splice these wires together to go to the coil+, but other say don’t or you will fry the stock coil. Since I have the Accel coil will a splice cause the coil to burnup? I need 12v power to the coil+ at least during startup. Also these wires go to and from the bulkhead – implications of splicing?

          3) What do I do with the voltage regulator. It has one wire from the alternator and the other to the blue/run wire of the ballast.

          4) What do I do with the ECU? Part of the answer will come from #1 above, but the ECU also has a wire to the coil-, a wire from the alternator, and a wire to the blue/run side of the ballast.

          I prefer to retain the existing wiring harness (as much as possible) and splice/jump wires as opposed to removing completely.

          I appreciate your time…
           
        • 67Dart273

          67Dart273 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          37,365
          Likes Received:
          5119
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2010
          Location:
          Idaho
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          8:07 AM
          1) The Fitech has the leads and connector to go into the new MSD dizzy – what do I do with the original dizzy wires that came from the ECU (orange box)?

          Unplug and "safe" them off or unwrap the harness and trace them back and pull them out of the harness. If it's a five wire, you will have "the fifth" wire going to one terminal on the 4 pin ballast.

          You will have two wires for the distributor pickup

          One will go direct from the ECU to the coil NEG

          The remaining will branch into the "blue" "ignition run" same point as your choke
           
        • 67Dart273

          67Dart273 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          37,365
          Likes Received:
          5119
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2010
          Location:
          Idaho
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          8:07 AM
          2) What do I do with the ballast wires (start/brown and run/blue)? Some say splice these wires together to go to the coil+, but other say don’t or you will fry the stock coil. Since I have the Accel coil will a splice cause the coil to burnup? I need 12v power to the coil+ at least during startup. Also these wires go to and from the bulkhead – implications of splicing?

          Depends on what ignition you are running. That is, coil + whatever ignition box.

          If you have a GM HEI module, or other "coil negative switch" type ignition, you don't need a ballast for "some." EG I run a stock Mopar coil with a GM HEI and no ballast. So, "it depends."

          MSD is completely different. They are a CD ignition, and do not run current through the coil. So, no ballast
           
        • 67Dart273

          67Dart273 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          37,365
          Likes Received:
          5119
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2010
          Location:
          Idaho
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          8:07 AM
          3) What do I do with the voltage regulator. It has one wire from the alternator and the other to the blue/run wire of the ballast.

          It must remain connected. The blue is what powers the VR and the voltage sensing to tell it how much to output
           
        • Husker

          Husker New Member

          Messages:
          4
          Likes Received:
          0
          Joined:
          Apr 16, 2018
          Location:
          Colorado Springs
          Local Time:
          9:07 AM
          Thank you x3.

          1) dead-end the original 2-wire plug that came from the original ECU to the original dizzy - easy
          2) regarding the ignition.... If I go with the GM HEI, I remove the ECU and the ballast -correct? I think the coil - and + are easy enough - they are the "B" and "C" terminals of the HEI. But the HEI terminals "W" and "B" that would typically go to the dizzy now go where? It sounds like you have a similar HEI setup - just with the stock dizzy instead of the MSD 2-wire I have.
          3) original Alternator voltage regulator must remain connected. One wire to alternator, the other is for power and presently goes to the ballast. If the ballast is removed, does the power come from the HEI "B" which also goes to the coil+?
           
        • dusted

          dusted Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          137
          Likes Received:
          81
          Joined:
          Sep 24, 2006
          Location:
          Creedmoor, NC
          Local Time:
          11:07 AM
          This is the -6 and -8 line I use on my duster and the truck. It’s from a hydraulic shop and I use a combination of AN and pushlock fittings. Stuff is cheap. Like $1.85 foot

          1A4D8A1C-9D51-41FA-9AC7-15BC767BD087.jpeg

          22ABAFE1-37DA-4573-AA16-5BBD787C56AA.jpeg

          719102FA-1E8E-4609-826E-EDB3CBACB548.jpeg
           
        • Husker

          Husker New Member

          Messages:
          4
          Likes Received:
          0
          Joined:
          Apr 16, 2018
          Location:
          Colorado Springs
          Local Time:
          9:07 AM
          So I stabbed in the new MSD and connected it to the Fitech leaving all other wiring connected - alternator voltage regulator, ECU, coil, and ballast. Changed the Fitech to VRCoil for the ignition. Car won't start... No signal to the coil. For giggles, I plugged the original dizzy wires to the original Mopar and just set the dizzy on top of the engine. It fires right up! I time it with a timing light to 10 advance at idle, play with handheld, and let it idle and rev for 10 min, and it sounds great. Disconnect the original dizzy and the car dies - no spark from the coil to the MSD.

          So it appears I need to ask some of my same questions again...

          1) What do I do with the original dizzy wires that came from the ECU (orange box)? It appears I cannot just "safely" end them.

          2) What do I do with the ballast wires (start/brown and run/blue)? It seems to run fine(?) with the ballast as is, but I still don't understand the GM HEI discussion above as I didn't think the Fitech could run the timing with the HEI module. Will toss this if I go with the 6al.

          3) What do I do with the voltage regulator. It has one wire from the alternator and the other to the blue/run wire of the ballast. If I go with a 6al and remove the ballast, does the blue connect to the small red (switched ignition) of the 6al?

          4) What do I do with the ECU? Thinking of tossing it in favor of a 6al...