Gear Pattern Opinions Please

-

SpeedThrills

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
This is an 8.8 Ford (in my F150), but the gears don't know that. (ssshhh!)
I have limited experience setting up gears, but I've never seen a pattern that encompasses the entire tooth, drive and coast. And I don't see any pictures like these online.
I used Ford Motorsport gears (going from 2.73 open, to 3.31's w/ a Traction Lok. I used the original pinion shim, and the original left side carrier shim. There's about .008 back lash, the spec is .008 to .012.
1686853908798.png

1686853957007.png

Yes, apparently they are. My book calls them "face hobbed", and as you say, that's the same as "two cut". I've only used the "five cut" (or face milled) previously.
Looking into this...
Thanks

It's hard to discern anything from that pattern. What kind of marking compound are you using? Are you applying drag to the carrier as you spin the yoke?

It's hard to discern anything from that pattern. What kind of marking compound are you using? Are you applying drag to the carrier as you spin the yoke?
Whatever compound comes with a Ratech kit.
Yes, I'm putting drag on the ring gear while I turn the pinion.

That is showing you your pinion is in too deep.

New bearings and back that pinion out a few thousands.

Then re shim your carrier bearings to give you the .008 - .012 ths backlash.

☆☆☆☆☆

Last edited:
I agree with George.
It would be "perfect" as is except
it allows no room for time, temperature, or loading.
If it was a slanty summer cruiser, with an auto trans, I would run it. ... because that would be a low-load, low-temp, 50% time sort of situation.

I have limited experience setting up gears, but I've never seen a pattern that encompasses the entire tooth, drive and coast. And I don't see any pictures like these online.