getting a 360 to run with no car

-

needsaresto

Reaction score
So I have this complete carb to pan 1978 4bbl truck 360. I bought it 3 or 4 years back as it was a good deal and was actually planning on dropping it in the cop car I had.Well,the cop car is long gone and I started playing around with the 360. It has been in dry storage the whole time,and bolted to an engine stand. It turns freely as I filled it with diesel. I primed it and then cranked it by hand using a socket on the dampner bolt.Theres lots of oil pressure and oil to the rockers.

What Im thinking is bolt it up to a 904 I'll be pulling soon.I have the correct tq for this. Wire it up and fire it up on the garage floor,using the starter coming with the trans.I have several rads to use with it and could easily fab up a panel for mounting the spark box,etc.Im also thinking just run constant power to the box via a switch,and simply use jumpers to the starter. Jerry can for fuel to the pump. Mock up some crap used exhaust ( allthough open would be more fun).Pressure wash the entire motor before trying to start it,as its umm,well lubed on the outside.Take a video and post it for sale.

Whats a complete and running 4 bbl truck 360 worth these days given the economy? Im not going to be greedy,but it would be nice not to loose money on it.

Should I just block it up using wood or build a dolly to support th trans and motor?

Suggestions or something I missed?

thanks guys!
Paul

If I needed one or was looking for a running block to build I might give 400-600.

Uh you can start it on the floor. Just don't rev it up to quick! It will almost flip over. Don't ask how I know:toothy10:

You don't need a radiator as long as you don't run it for longer than a couple minutes.

Starting it on floor, that's a wee bit daring, lol. I'd for sure tie it down with chains and a "come-along" at the engine mounts, and figure something out for the trans. (hold it down).