Handling the Dart

-

Hemispherical

Reaction score
I've got a Dart with a small-block 340 that wallows about town like a beached whale. Instead I want a car that navigates the crowd like a hyperactive debutante: a nimble. tight street ride.

So before going crazy I wanted to sanity check my proposed set-up by you guys:

0.920 torsion bars
heavy-duty 1 1/4 front sway bar
rear sway bar
regular Koni shocks all round

Questions:
#1 Should I even consider 0.990 bars in combo with sway bars, or are the 0.920 overkill with the rest of the setup?
#2 Will I even notice the rear sway bars? Word seems to be that they may help counteract any tendancy to understeer? Does anybody think they're must have?
#3 Presumably the adjustable Koni shocks should be set quite stiff to match the t-bar, no?

Any other tips or suggestions? I also plan front discs and a refurbished power steering unit from FirmFeel or similar. I'm actually in Australia, so parts are a lot harder than in the States. I'm new to all this, but got the mopar bug now, and discovering my inner rrrrrevhead :) Thanks..

That is not a bad front set up. I am also going to use the .920 torsion bars but the.990 are too big and should only be used on hi-po race cars. the .920 bars are solo racer bars that are a great idea for the weekend autocrosser but not good for an every day thing.

I am not real keen on sway bars. Right at the present time I am figuring a way for a panhard bar or watts link in the rear with the opition of a sway bar still in. A watts link is used in hi-po race cars also due to the noise it makes sometimes when turning into a corner at very high speeds. It uses a swivel action that causes the noise. A panhard bar doesnt make the noise due to it only being like a steel rod. You mount it at one side of the axle housing then run it up as far as you can to the frame, in a diagonal of course. Both keep body roll to a min. and lateral stability to a very excellent position.