Headers for my 318

-

sniekamp

Reaction score
What are some good affordable headers that will fit a 318? And when I get them is it a very hard job to install them without removing the engine?? I'm a newbie at this and just need some good tips and tricks.

Car is a 74 dodge dart.

Here's the problem, the words, good fit and easy install do not go together at all.

Inexpensive headers can be purchased at Summit. There own brand are about $130. http://www.summitracing.com/search/...rtment/Exhaust/Part-Type/Headers/?Ns=Rank|Asc
Hookers a good bit more, but are the same design. These 1 size fits all header are a royal pain in the *** to install since the drivers front end linkage must come apart, the car should be on a lift and then on top of it all, the engine must be tilted 3 more inch's to install the drivers header.

Chances are, if your on the floor doing this, you'll have a major cuss fit and hammer throwing contest before your done. Once installed, you'll note 3 out of 4 tubes hang low on the drivers side and they WILL hit the ground and be flattened.

The only header that is not as bad is a set of tti headers at about 5 times the cost. Somewhere in the 700 buck range.
http://www.ttiexhaust.com/

Good and affordable don't usually go together with A-body headers. I went with stock manifolds on the 318 in my beater dart. I changed the cam and added a performer intake with thermoquad. Woke the motor right up. Is your motor a stock two barrel?

mischief, what cam you slide in? Just wondering.

A way back, I did a factory 4bbl, TQ, and dual exhaust off the manifolds. Excellent results. I wanted to do a set of headers, but I was not so thrilled with the work ahead of me, so, I opted out. Such a pain!

I noticed Comp Cams line of cams for exhaust manifold cars. A lot of extra duration. I wanted to do one of those in the car.

Them Hedman shorties will fit pretty good. There are a few people on here that have them. I think they are 250 bucks or so.