Heads etc. What do I have?

-

E Satterfield

Reaction score
Hello. I’m new to Mopars. We ordered a new 408 Blueprint for my wife’s Duster due to not having a local reputable machine shop so I decided to tear down the engine that was in it to basically see if there was anything that I could possibly sell to recover some of the funds for the new engine. It’s a 75 360 block
The heads are 340 X casting but it appears that someone has milled off the rocker pedestals and added these aluminum items for the roller rockers? One of the pedestals has been welded and one was observed broken in half during tear down. Is this a factory modification or done later by someone?
It also has deep dished pistons that look like the could be for a possible boosted application? Seem really dished even for a stock type 8-8.5-1 rebuild?

It’s also running a Comp solid lifter with nearly .500 lift. With the low compression a stock converter 650 double pump Open plenum intake and 2.76 gears I believe I can see why it was such a slug. Thanks for any info.

47BE05B3-2B80-46DA-9B6E-FAC4921C9B80.jpeg

2D376B9B-6D62-424D-B5C9-0687765CE091.jpeg

3F17BF10-3C5E-4C56-8294-26666D176E73.jpeg

1FE11301-A113-4DEB-93E0-D87BF70EAFFF.jpeg

It might have been pretty cool setup in it's day, but, there are better options now when you want to go fast. I doubt many would be interested in that setup seeing as how it broke. Who knows if the machine work was done properly. If the heads hadn't been milled, someone doing a 340 resto would want them (assuming they aren't cracked or surfaced too much), but, a racer would want to go aluminum these days. The short block would have a little value assuming it will bore within specs. What did they do with the bottom end? Stock cast crank? Billet? Stroker? Internal or external balance? etc....