help on performance decision

-
Ooo ok lol I'm upgrading the valves from the stock 178-150 to 188-160

you know what, my bad...I keep thinking 360 heads.

Just know you can easily get 215 cfm with porting using the 1.78 valve, but the 1.88 should make it easier.

on the 318 exhuast...thats a good port, i get 145-155cfm easy with porting and valve job.

you know what, my bad...I keep thinking 360 heads.

Just know you can easily get 215 cfm with porting using the 1.78 valve, but the 1.88 should make it easier.

on the 318 exhuast...thats a good port, i get 145-155cfm easy with porting and valve job.

With stock pistons would that not drop compression, or does it remain due to the closed chamber?. We have about the same combo's and I have been considering the 302's for a couple of years now. Just haven't quite decided yet.

Well it depends on the valves head/face and wether it's cupped or not, then consider how much higher the bigger valve will sit.

the 'tiny' gain would not be noticable in the compression depot.imo

not as much as if you milled .020 off the head, that would show 'at least 5 psi'* gain in dynamic compression, from my experience.

By milling off 0.20 would you need to get shorter rods? Or what's the max you can mill off without effecting the geometry of the drivetrain

Do you mean 0.20" or .020"? Big difference. Just .020", then no new pushrods shouldn't be required. But 0.20" is .200", so yeah, you'd need um then.....but you'd have a mighty thin deck.

.020 lol what's the most I can take off the heads without the geometry changing

Nevermind. I responded thinkin this was a slant discussion. Been another night with no sleep. Sorry.

.020 lol what's the most I can take off the heads without the geometry changing