Home recording equipment

-

mikesduster

Reaction score
What equipment and software do you use for your recordings in your home?? Looking to make a CD and wondering what you guys use to record??? Someone said to use "Garage Band"....Any good??

I was kinda hoping for a few posts about this subject to Mike. Although my group is regularly recorded, it is not at my house and I would like to start putting a lot of my own songs together on one nice sounding format, but with so many choices out there, I don't want to just jump and buy something. I hope a couple people chime in, and i'll ask on another forum I belong to and see what the general consensus is there. Geof

I am a musician and we record our own stuff. We use Sonar. But to record you will also need a quality microphone. I reccommend sennheiser. quality cables as well as one of many different devices you can use to plug your mic into and USB to your PC. but get a good one with peak limiters.

I have a nice wireless but cant remember what it is off hand. Paid like $250.00 about 5 yrs ago for it. Is Sonar a software??

yes, sonar is a recording software. it will also allow you to make a CD. Avoid wireless mics for recording. theyre Ok live. but to record you will get a lot of noise.

Garage band is nice but its Mac software. Audacity is free and works ok for cutting demos.

After reviewing a number of posts on another website I frequent, 2 programs seem to come highly recommended. Audacity is the first, offering simplicity and ease of use for most general purpose recordings. Next would be Reaper, which boasts a number of features to cover almost any general recording, and a lot of extras for specialized mixing to cover most all of your recording and CD making needs. They did say that a download of MP3 transferring software is advised and necessary to transfer your product to MP3 or CD. I'm going to look into Reaper myself, as I understand it is well worth the $60.00 pricetag!!! Geof