i need some engine advice

-

muscleman

Reaction score
Hi, i'm kinda new to workin with American muscle and need some advice. I have a 1974 duster with a 1972 340 engine. Is there anything i can do to it to give it the same performance of a 70-71 340 without adding any accessories to it? and if not , is it worth replacing it with the good ol' 70-71 340?

Yeah change the cam. Also check the heads and see if they have an X next to the spark plug. If not you'll have to pull the head to see if you have 2.02in 1.60ex.

as far as I know and thats not much any 340 is a GOOD 340 with a simple head swap to some early 340 heads or X heads I think you will be right as rain

yea, keep the 340 you have. all 340's from 68-73 are good. even though in 72 i think they came with cast cranks and lower compression. but still, that can all changelater when ou decide to do a complete rebuild.

The biggest changes to the '72 and '73 340's was the cast crank, lower compression, and smaller valves.

The cast crank really doesn't affect hp, and it will be just fine up to 400+ hp, so no real worries there.

The smaller valves are still 1.88/1.60, so while you may lose a little bit on the top end, this isn't a huge power robbing change, especially with a stock cam, intake and carb. Start opening up the flow elsewhere though and it can become a bottleneck.

The compression ratio is where you really take a hit. '72-'73 340's had different pistons to get that lower ratio. '68-'71 340's had pistons that came out of the cylinder by .018" (which can actually be detrimental if you want to run aftermarket heads, since most are closed chamber and can present clearance problems.) Needless to say, unless you're going to do a complete rebuild you probably won't be changing the pistons, so you'll have to look at getting more compression another way.