Ignition problems I think

-

68dart225

mopar rookie
Reaction score
Ok im getting desperate.
I bought a rusty dart that ran kinda rough and after fixing a vacuum leak (loose manifold bolts) and turning up the idle a little, it was running better.

I flushed the cooling system, changed the oil, thermostat, spark plugs, spark plug tube seals, plug wires, cap and rotor all in the same sitting. Now the engine will crank but won't start. I am not a professional but I have certainly done these simple things many times on other cars.

So I think something is wrong with the ignition. I'm pretty sure it has been upgraded to electronic. The coil wire that goes to the cap is putting out spark but th spark at the plug seems weak. I have read a lot about changing the ballast resistor but don't know where its located the only module on the firewall is the voltage regulator and I changed it out with no effect.

Bring on the knowledge, what do you think?

You gapped the plugs and they are correct for the application?

I have to ask, the plug wires are in the correct firing order 1-5-3-6-2-4

You say the spark at the plugs seems weak, how does it look off the coil wire, nice and blue?

I would say that if you are getting spark there is nothing wrong with the coil and ignition module. Were there points in the distributor when you put on the new rotor? If so then it's not electronic. For it to be electronic there would be a reluctor and pick-up assembly in it.

What is the voltage reading on the coil + while you are cranking it and what is battery voltage while cranking?

I gapped them at .035
firing order is correct