leafsprings - what would you recommend

-

lilredridinghoo

Reaction score
hi all,

tried to find some posting about leafsprings by using the forums search function... but what i found didn´t satiesfied me...

my question:
what brand/type of leafspring would you recommend/choose if you would need some, cause your old ones are sagging ?

Mopar XHD
Superstock Springs
Summit house brand

i also found some leafsprings in other stores like Speedwaymotorparts, they offer Landrum and also a inhouse brand

i´ve told by some mopar-guys here in Germany, that XHD-springs are getting week and also sagging within 2 years and you will have the same problems as before with a 40 year old spring ???

I have been running the SS springs for 3 years or so. They are a little bouncy but I like the stance they give the car. No signs of sagging.

dart_san.jacinto%20006.jpg

SS if you want it to hook or only drive in a straight line or basically if you aren't road racing and just take turns nice and easy.

espo if you want it to handle good, especially right turns...lol

I'm putting Mopar SS springs in mine. You may see if a spring shop can rebuild, but it can be pricey. My 71 Duster rolled for 5 years on SS springs and never had an issue.

I've been rolling ss springs since '03 and they do alright but are not meant for handling.

I have spun the car out at 50mph changing lanes back and forth to fast

Had a set of Espo springs in my previous duster excellent springs and customer service..if your going to frequent the track then Mopar xhd will get the job done and help your car hook up..never liked s.s.springs..

I think the handling problem people observe with SS springs has more to do with raising the rear end than the springs themselves.

I have the SS springs on my Barracuda. Been running them since 2000. No signs of sagging at all. Like others above stated, great stance, got to take the corners a bit easy though.