Looking for a certain battery disconnect switch

-

jos51700

Green Bearing thread connoisseur
Reaction score
I came across this photo from several years ago. A guy had it under the hood of his '93 Ram Cummins. Has anybody seen one like this or know where to spec it?
Thanks
JOS
1700408041982.jpeg

That is not a "certain" disconnect, there are several / many like it. Moroso, to name one, I have not kept up on the current opinion with "what is best." Cole Hearse used to be a good brand. Some used to be good brands are now chineseoized

IF YOU ARE going NHRA racing, I highly recommend you do some searching for the best opinions AND GET ONE WITH FOUR terminals, CORRECTLY known as DPST, which means, "double pole--single throw". What that means is that it switches TWO circuits (double pole) and only has one function, On/ off "single throw."

Disconnects just like this were used since I was a young grade school student in trucks and school buses. I'm 75

That is not a "certain" disconnect, there are several / many like it. Moroso, to name one, I have not kept up on the current opinion with "what is best." Cole Hearse used to be a good brand. Some used to be good brands are now chineseoized

IF YOU ARE going NHRA racing, I highly recommend you do some searching for the best opinions AND GET ONE WITH FOUR terminals, CORRECTLY known as DPST, which means, "double pole--single throw". What that means is that it switches TWO circuits (double pole) and only has one function, On/ off "single throw."

Disconnects just like this were used since I was a young grade school student in trucks and school buses. I'm 75

What kind of amperage for something like a Cummins truck with intake heaters and all that crap? I'm assuming the starter wire still runs direct.

No idea. I would get yourself to an actual truck shop. AKA one that works on big rigs. Be sure that you want one. Will it discharge the computer memory?