Looking for suggestions on quarter panel repair

-

chachi

Reaction score
Hello..

I just want to let everyone know that i am new to the restoration world and quite new to mopars in general.

I was hoping to post a picture and get feedback on what to do..

I picked up a 68 dart not too long ago and was doing mechanical repairs. I am now switching to body repairs and came across something today that really made me shake my head. I'm not a body man...but the thing i discovered today made me realize that neither was the previous owner.

I started on the rear quarter panel because i noticed some cracking and figured i need to get to the bottom of it. As i sanded off the paint i discovered more and more....

There is a large hole at the very back of the quarter panel. The guy stuffed about a pound of bondo in there, then put cardboard on top, then put more bondo on top of the cardboard. I read the cardboard and it was actually from the bondo box!! Not only that but within the quarter panel i found a mixture of rocks (yes rocks) and screws (yes screws). It took me some time to get all of it out of there.

Anyways, i'm looking for suggestions on how to fix (i am on a budget and can't break the bank to fix) I've emailed some body shops and they came back with 1) Use bondo with a zinc backing plate: but do it right this time 2) fiberglass 3) full panel replacement 4) Filler called Metal to Metal used with Aluminum tape (?)

I know i won't be using cardboard but was looking for feedback.

This is my weekend car for fun and cruising and i'm not looking to have it at a show n' shine or car show.

Thanks in advance everyone!!

CIMG0054.jpg

CIMG0055.jpg

CIMG0056.jpg