Low voltage to coil

-

PcWilliams

Reaction score
Hi all. Seems i'm not getting full voltage to the coil. I'm getting about 5 volts when i think i should be getting about 8 (?). Any ideas?
636737319973393482.jpg

Measure the voltage on the other side (feed side) of ballast resistor. It should be about 12 v. If it is, your coil or ballast resistor could be bad. I am assuming you have a ballast resistor.

If it is a stock ignition ballast resistors and coils are pretty cheap. I would shotgun both.

If voltage is not near 12 v, more troubleshooting of supply circuit will be needed.

Measure the voltage on the other side (feed side) of ballast resistor. It should be about 12 v. If it is, your coil or ballast resistor could be bad. I am assuming you have a ballast resistor.

If it is a stock ignition ballast resistors and coils are pretty cheap. I would shotgun both.

If voltage is not near 12 v, more troubleshooting of supply circuit will be needed.

I'll try my best. I'm an amateur electrician, at best. :)

This may or may not be a good strategy

1....You want to find out that there is or is not (should not be) voltage drop between the ballast resistor ignition switch feed, through the harness, switch, bulkhead, all the way back to the battery

2.....Ballast voltage will vary A LOT depending on whether idling slow or engine off, etc, the type of coil you are running, and just plain variations over the years

So........

To check for voltage drop, with engine off, turn key to "run." Measure voltage between battery POS post and the keyswitch side of the ballast. You should have a VERY low reading, the lower the better. More than about .3V (3/10 of one volt) means there is voltage drop in there

2....Check coil+ voltage both with key on / engine stopped. and engine running at low idle.

Check again, rev engine up to simulate "medium cruise" RPM IE as if you were cruising down the street at 40-45 mph