Memorial Day vs Veterans Day

-

ramenth

Gratis persona
Reaction score
The former is in memorial (hence the name) of those who went war and didn't make it back.

The latter is honoring all those who have military service.

I had to explain that a couple of times this weekend. Figured I'd share it here.

seems easy enough to understand, but I can see why some people and their kids don't ............................

Unfortunately, some of my active duty and Veteran friends don' know the difference and nearly break their arms with the back-patting every year.

I'm a veteran.
Memorial day is for the dead.
Vets have 2 days. Veterans Day and Armed Forces day (albeit a working day).
I'll never come down on a Joe who's waxing nostalgic about a lost comrade from the bottom of a beer bottle.
Personally, I don't really care for people thanking me for my service. I feel awkward. When I joined, I was thinking of me, not really my country. But that did change after I got in and served. You quickly realize you're part of something bigger than yourself.
But the fact that people are taking time to do it is a 180 from what the older vets got. So if a Vietnam vet pats himself on the back, it's because being called a baby killer was what he got when he came home.

I ran into a few people that were upset with 'living' veterans on Memorial Day.

I was quite surprised.

Many of the living Vets have brothers in arms that did not come back.

How they spend their holiday, any holiday is up to them, they earned it.

I disagree. I think it is unbecoming behavior of Veterans and Active Service Members to seek praise or attention on the holiday that honors fallen service members specifically. It dilutes the very meaning of the holiday and as a result becomes just another rhetorical "Thanks for your service" event.

AND THEN THERE IS THIS!! Now remember as you are reading this...........

1.....This jerk has FAR surpassed his monetary goals by gettin stupid people to pay for his ticket