My official '84 Rampage resto thread!

-

hemizach

Young Blood
Reaction score
Well my friends, I think it's time. Many of you know I'm the kid on the forum with the '84 rampage, and many people are actually interesting in these little trucks, so I figured why not start a resto thread!

A little history:

My godparents once owned an 82-83 rampage (a red one) years ago. They ran that thing around town until one day some chick ran a red light. Well, the red truck was totalled and they then bought the silver one. My godfather sanded it down and was going to send it out for a quick spray down with some new paint just so they could drive it, but that's as far as he got. Before it ever got painted, my godfather got sick. Eventually he passed in may of 2006, right before I graduated from 8th grade. The 84 sat for two more years. My godmother tried to sell it but nobody was interested. Finally, I decided that I wanted this little oddball truck and take on the challenge of building it into something cool and unique. Finally, now that I am out of high school and working for a living... I can get into building this cool little ride.

I consider myself and my little truck the "Misfit Toy of the Mopar people".

Enough with the chit-chat though... I have some pics to share.

Today I drove 600 miles round trip to pick up an engine from an 83.5 shelby charger. I also came back with the shelby charger nose, fender extensions, and side ground effects. I also have an A525 5-speed to drop in and the k member to go with it.

Plans:

Hot carbed 2.2 L4...

Dual weber side-draft carbs
Roller cam from a later model engine
Ported head along with a valve job
Ported exhaust manifold (maybe a custom tubular manifold)
2.25 inch exhaust
More that I am forgetting.

I refuse to give you guys any more details... to find out what I am going to do just check for updates. Here are some pics to start everything out!!!

Junk parts in a junk truck I suppose :-D