Need more juice

Discussion in 'Electrical and Ignition' started by 44070dart, Oct 10, 2018.

  1. 44070dart

    44070dart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Location:
    right here ...see me I'm waving
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    8:42 AM
    Adding stereo, aftermarket gauges, and lights, think I need an extra fuse block. Can I run a wire from the alternator to the new box and does the box get grounded. Figured I'd check before I burn it down.
     
  2. Gdub310

    Gdub310 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    12:42 AM
    You'll want to power the auxilliary terminals/fuse block off the battery instead of the alternator, so it has a steady supply of power. If you want the new block to be switched with the ignition, you'll need to employ a relay. Each device that is wired to the new block needs to be grounded, of course. Some blocks will feature a negative terminal or bus that can be attached to ground, and then the devices supplied by the block can also be grounded there. But the block itself does not need ground. I have used a product like this or similar on several auto and motorcycle installations, and it works very well: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000THQ0CQ
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • 44070dart

      44070dart Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      502
      Likes Received:
      180
      Joined:
      Jul 9, 2004
      Location:
      right here ...see me I'm waving
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      8:42 AM
      My fan relay

      DSCN2790.JPG

      DSCN2789.JPG
       
    • clifftt

      clifftt Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,941
      Likes Received:
      360
      Joined:
      Nov 13, 2007
      Location:
      Concord, CA
      Local Time:
      12:42 AM
      Is that sitting on an apple?
       
    • 67Dart273

      67Dart273 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      38,064
      Likes Received:
      5662
      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2010
      Location:
      Idaho
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      12:42 AM
      This is not exactly true if you have a factory wiring setup. This is because the old ammeter wiring is "weak." When you pull off the battery, all the juice while running has to go through the weak / damaged ammeter/ bulkhead circuit.

      There is no easy answer. If you are going to run "big" accessories and/or a big alternator, you should spruce up or bypass the bulkhead connector /ammeter.

      There are several ways to do this
       
    • 44070dart

      44070dart Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      502
      Likes Received:
      180
      Joined:
      Jul 9, 2004
      Location:
      right here ...see me I'm waving
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      8:42 AM
      It finally got it ! It took awhile to visualize in my head ( and a FEW pm's) but I have it. Thank gentlemen. I'm a nut and bolt guy, so it took a bit of time. ( It is a pear my 3 year old granddaughter picked up in the yard, she said I had to have it, so I used it.)
       
      Last edited: Oct 15, 2018