Need some help, oiling issue 318 la block with magnum heads

-

janthonyg

Reaction score
Hello everyone, im new to the mopar world on my second build and have run into an issue with the oiling on my 318. i have a 91 block with some new cast magnum heads and a comp cam valvetrain. the issue is that only some of the rocker arms are getting oil (magnum style arms not shaft la). all of the rockers on the driver side oil fine but on the passenger side rockers 1,3,6, are not oiling but the rest are. i have rebuilt this engine and everything is new. i have also swapped out the lifters twice and same problem. has anybody seen this before? ive cleaned the oil galley all the way to the filter and found nothing.

The old LA blocks oil through the head, the magnums oil through the lifters and hollow pushrods. Are you using AMC hydraulic lifters and hollow pushrods? Search hot rod magazine, they did a magnum head swap on a LA 318 and mention the oiling differences as well as the part number and length of pushrods used for their build

Yes i am using hydraulic oiling lifters and hollow push rods. The issue is only on those 3 rockers and i have checked to make sure the pushrods are not cloged.

I will be following along as I am planning on putting magnum heads on my LA 318. I'm sure on of the experts here will have the answer for you.

Have you turned the motor over while priming it? In certain lift positions the pushrod may not oil the rocker.

I have not but ive take the valve cover off with it running to check the oil for assuming it would have the same effect.

Have you turned the motor over while priming it? In certain lift positions the pushrod may not oil the rocker.
I have not but ive take the valve cover off with it running to check the oil for assuming it would have the same effect

Yes sir it would. Prime it with a drill and see if the lifter pukes oil with no pushrod in it