New Project..450ci 340

-

Rob R

Reaction score
While poking around looking for small block parts on the inter web I come across a fellow down south who has a small block reciprocating assembly.
Nice custom billet 43 lb crank..pro billet connecting rods and custom JE pistons.
I have a killer 340 block that I've been sitting on for 20 years...thick thrusts..lifter bores indexed all the good stuff so it will be a very nice match.
I had a chance last summer to pickup a set of B1BA cyl heads that couldn't have any more money spent on them if you tried and for a ferociously good deal...
But I didn't have a complete short block to use them with so I passed them on to a friend.I figured I'm jumping over enough stuff and two more heads that aren't going to get used immediately just didn't make sense even at a great price...Hind sight is always 20/20 because I could have sold those heads two times over already grrrrrrr...
So I wasn't going to have that happen to me again so I told him I'd take them if he guarantees that there are no cracks/index problems/bent.
He sent them to a different shop to have this done and get paper work...
So this little project is going to be a dyno mule for me.
I only have until Apr 1 to get it together and play with it because I have two big jobs that are going to take up all my time until Sept.
I'll post up pictures as I progress...

stay tuned.

This should be a fun thread once I get at it...I'm going to try different cyl heads but not in the average bolt on configuration...
For example the much maligned E head...I think it's a great little head now imagine if it had no push rod pinch...I'll show how it's done and what to expect.And then the very much maligned B1BA...I'll scrape together a small block 360 ci for the first couple of pulls and see if the few extra bucks they cost to use are worth it.You will be very suprized...the bad rap they have is totally undeserved.