New South Florida Dart owner (convertible)

-

DA69RT GT

South Florida Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
OK guys- Im finally getting around to introducing myself (sorry) as I’ve been on here since June asking questions and taking advantage of years of experience and knowledge.
I grew up around MOPAR’s with my 1st car being a '72 318 Charger SE while my brother had a '69 440 Road Runner. My dad owned a local Goodyear so as you could imagine… the compressors were usually running way past closing time!
Well its been 25yrs since I sold my “baby” for $1500 to buy a Trans Am (ugh) because I was told I could only have 1 car (thanks Dad). But- IM BACK!!!!!!
I recently told my wife I was getting either A: an older car or B: a younger girlfriend… no ifs, ands, or buts... and SHE could choose. And although she did give the ok on the car, she has recently said a girlfriend might be cheaper in the long run and would probably take up less of my time (?). lol
Heres my story: Im a Professional Baseball Scout, and was out in Memphis watching some games this summer when I noticed an ad for a car in Oklahoma. I had originally wanted a Cuda or Challenger but realized they were way out of my price range. So, here was a 69 Dart convertible B5 Blue w/white top looking a little rough but could see it had potential. I told my wife if I didn’t check it out- Id kick myself later. So… I rented a car and drove 7hrs to see if it was a keeper. As soon as I saw the car- I knew I wanted it… convertible in South Fla? Whatdaya think? We cranked it up, brought it to a local shop and put it in the air, test drove it, and told him I was gonna spend the night and sleep on it. Made an offer the next morning and then actually made a deal to pay him and his buddy to trailer it down to me the very next day! I flew home with the title for my “new” car and it showed up 2 days later.