New to Classic Cars / 74 Duster Restoration

-

dheff

Lack of Experience
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

I am new to this restoration thing, and have found it very time consuming looking for parts for a 1974 Duster ( 318 ). Currently, I am having a difficult time trying to find the correct crankcase breather with grommet, and, the correct pcv grommet size.

I would like to just replace the entire valve covers, but, the auto parts sites are vague in description as to what I can really put on my vehicle. Any Help would be appreciated.

Also, I can't find any information as to what fuel I am supposed to use. Is it leaded or unleaded.

Thanks for your help.

The breather's grommet is available via Borg-Warner ( or even Echlin , etc. ) and the PCV grommet is available in the "HELP!" section at the auto parts stores .

I think that some of the resto places also offer these items as well , and they're the *correct* pieces and not emblazened by a "made in china" ( :mumum: ) impression .

Is the breather itself missing ?
If it's not missing , then just clean it out , repaint it (if so desired) and reinstate it .
If it is missing , it can be had new as well . Again , it's a "HELP!" part , and is again made in china :sad8: .
I'm not sure if restoration breathers are made for '70-'71 and '72 & later motors ...

Stamped-steel-with-plating valve covers are widely available , as are cast aluminum .

The breather's grommet is available via Borg-Warner ( or even Echlin , etc. ) and the PCV grommet is available in the "HELP!" section at the auto parts stores .

I think that some of the resto places also offer these items as well , and they're the *correct* pieces and not emblazened by a "made in china" ( :mumum: ) impression .

Is the breather itself missing ?
If it's not missing , then just clean it out , repaint it (if so desired) and reinstate it .
If it is missing , it can be had new as well . Again , it's a "HELP!" part , and is again made in china :sad8: .