New to me SS Barracuda clone

-

danan

Reaction score
I’ve been gathering parts for several years to build a SS Barracuda clone that I’m going to paint in period-correct livery, but through a serendipitous coincidence I picked up a beautiful car built by Greg Fernando at SS & AFX.

The previous owner had it built to be a nostalgia racer and has a stout solid roller cam, 12.5:1 compression, and Stage V heads and rockers. It’s a 4 spd car with a 4.56 Dana. Besides the required race parts (fuel system, cage, line lock, seat belts, etc), the car is quite authentic. It even has lightweight side glass.

I’m beyond excited and can’t wait to race the car! But first I have to find and correct a low oil pressure issue (fully disclosed by the seller).

I’m still going to proceed with my own SS build so my wife and I can match race. I’m very excited about this car and hope you enjoy the pictures.

BBD6E0C5-0AA0-4A12-9727-C78D4094EC4C.jpeg

030ED51D-F527-4B29-90A4-03FF07FCFEF9.jpeg

48C16E6D-9E5C-4549-8193-544F7D0A47EF.png

4C4C3A56-3903-484E-83D0-EACC134F8BF4.jpeg

It almost looks like the one we had. Ours was the first built by Greg Fernald of SS/AFX and we (Mr. Norms Garage) sold it to Greg Nelson after having it for several years. Was originally a 69 Formula S 340 and when Fernald did it he painted it orange, we did the S&M scheme. I drove the crap out of it, the Gear Vendors overdrive made the car totally driveable and the Vintage Air made it tolerable in the Scottsdale, AZ heat. Looks like yours is closer to the original scheme, cool!

68 S&M clone.JPG

Last edited: