New Whipper Snapper

-

classicfan1

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Stephen and I'm from Ohio. I'm 19 and currently going to college, so I didn't quite grow up with the a-bodies - we had two two k-car derivatives and then a first-gen Stratus. Not theres anything wrong with those of course. Anyway, I've been buying and selling classic car parts since 2009 and how I fell into that is kind of a long story. IT's beena fun and rewarding side job, and I recently have fallen into a stash of a-body Chrysler parts. A local junkyard crushed back on Jan. 26 and I had the chance to strip the four classics lined up for the crusher (a '72 Montego GT, '54 Chevy Bel-Air, '64 Chevy Bel-Air, and a ''84-'85 Charger 2.2). I got to three of them, unfortunately due to lack of time, a 1984-'85 Charger 2.2 with a lot of good stuff left went bye-bye. At least I got the nose off it and it's hanging in my garage as wall art. I like to bring these parts to collectors and car guys here on forums, I'm not much of an eBay (feepay) fan. The best part is when a buyer sends me a picture of the car they are working on, not sure why but it is.

Welcome Stephen! Glad to hear about your business. Hope you have fun playing with us here!

Glenn

Yea, its nice to be able to have fun and earn money for a future university transfer at the same time. Sadly, another job and full time class in the summer means my time is quite limited in the spring and fall. I bought those "saved" parts in January and classes come first, so it slowly moved out. Now that summer is here, I'm able rotate the inventory a bit (much to my dad's delight!)

Which reminds me, the fellow I'm getting the parts from has a 3-speed TorqueFlite push-button transmission out of a 1963 Valiant he had a long time ago. I don't know where I would store a trans but he is trying to sell it and avoid scrapping it. Is there even a market for that? I mean, the car was a Slant 6 and those engines are very common (but reliable!).