Newbie here - 1st generation Barracuda

-

SIlverGraphite

Reaction score
Mornin' all,

Newbie here. I'm thinking about rescuing a first gen Barracuda. Right now, it's wasting away with no motor. Haven't seen the car up close yet, but the guy wants $1250 for it. Body looks "fair" - doesn't seem to be a lot of rust from what I can see in the photos (paint is pretty crap though). Glass seems to be present.

I grew up on late 60s Aussie Valiants (couple of VCs and a VF), so I'm pretty familiar with the basics but have some questions.

First would $1250 be reasonable for an engine-less body in fair shape?
What to watch out for? I assume the US A-bodies are prone to rust in similar places to the Aussies? (quarter panels, floors, spare wheel well, bottom of doors) What about other places?

Engines? I think the first gen Barracudas came with a 225 Slant 6(?) but I assume it's no trouble to drop any of the early LA motors into it?

Trannies? Back in Australia years ago, it was fairly common and easy to mount up a 5 speed floor shift (Celica boxes were the most common). Does anyone make hardware to do something similar over here?

Brakes? There's gotta be options for disc brakes? What about other handling improvements?

Parts/sheet metal in general? There was a decent aftermarket for replacement parts for the old Vals in Australia when I left there - you could get new sections for the rust prone areas and you could still get rubber stuff like engine mounts and spring bushes, and some electrical new from the dealer. How hard to get parts over here?

Ok, that's a big enough can of worms for starters :)

Thanks all! (and if I've run afoul of any newbie-traps, thread rules etc please accept my apologies)