No-Prep Racing in Spokane tonight

-

Kent mosby

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I am pretty new to racing and want to get some setup recommendations for my Scamp. The track has been closed for 2-3 years due to sale and renovations. Today it opens for no-prep and test and tune.

2 years ago I had my car on chassis dyno and it had 409 rear wheel HP, 430 or so TQ. Later, I found that the cam timing was way off and redid that to specs of the cam maker. Before changing the cam timing the best I could get was 1.735 60 and 12.3 at 110. I am hoping to get into 11s tonight, even if 11.99. I have not dynoed since the cam changes but seat of the pants feels much stronger. Real or Feel??

The car is 73 scamp with full interior, 512 stroker RB, trickflow 240, super sniper EFI, 3.91 gears 8 3/4 rear. I also changed to viking dual adjustable shocks all around. MT street radials 255/60-15s. 727 with transgo 2 kit. Quicksilver shifter. Only 3200 stall Hughes converter (weak link, I know). Line lock installed. SS springs

Temp will be about 76-82 at race time, Elevation at 2200 ft.

For a no prep race what do you set tire pressures at? Any starting tips? Burnout ideas? Any Cautions? I set the vikings to Drag specs.

Btw, I do have room for 275/60-15s but still some life in the 255s. How do decide which to run? On the street I have 275 cobras

Wish me luck

Good luck and have fun!!

That being said, I wouldn’t be too concerned with whatever the ET’s are under “no prep” conditions.

You will be disappointed at that no prep race at Spokane. I would recommend waiting until they get the track better and have some races under their beltl get some rubber on the track and know how to run a track.

they had to cancel their Race 2 weeks ago due to no traction.

they cancelled their first race. They stated it was for “safety reasons”.