noob need some basics

-

swing72

noob to the game
Reaction score
so im new to everything that is mopar and i tell you what im enjoying but i am starting my first mopar project which is a 1972 dart and it was a v8 car with power brakes and power steering, etc just about every thing you can get but, it has no engine so i bought 2 440's and got some 727 trans with it as a paclage deal so here are my questions which is a better engine 1968 or 1972, what are the basic things i need to get to swap this engine in to the car, ? such as motor mounts, clearance issue, trans mounts, raditors, etc.... i need to know everything that i can possible get to get me going, thank you very much. pics of your setups and info is great thanks

If I were you I would use the 68 440 if I could, as it will have a forged crank and the 72 will most likely have a cast crank. If I were you I would also set up a game plan as to what you want this car to be. Is it going to be a street/strip car, tubbed or mini-tubbed, just a motor transplant? A good vision of your car as you'd like it to be will set this in motion quicker. A couple items that you will need to buy are an 8 3/4 rear end, larger torsion bars, Schumacher engine mounts to fit your set-up, and a complete rebuild of the front and rear suspension systems. You are adding a lot of weight and torque and these areas need to be completely tight to handle this upgrade. I have never done this swap and there are some people here who have and who can fill in the details, but make sure that your underpinnings are up to task.