Paid to restore a car.... Questions.

-

Backtobasics

Reaction score
Full disclosure: It's a 1965 Mustang.

Beyond that, someone I went to school with has decided to buy a 1965 Mustang he found while working in the insurance business. Inline 6, automatic car. Exterior shots from what I see show a sunfaded finish, minimal rust. He says it needs driver floor pan, but supposedly no other major rust through.

Not sure if he wants to keep the 6 (has headers? haha), or go to small v8. I am thinking the plan so far is to strip the body, straighten, and paint. Color unknown, currently burgundy. Maybe pull straight 6 and detail, rebuild carb, etc. Run through fuel system and brakes for safety, and let him have a cruiser.

What do you guys who do body work on the side charge? Per hour or job?
I am by no means a pro, but have sprayed several flip cars, done base coat / clear coat on my Typhoon, and have the majority of the necessary tools. I feel comfortable it is within my abilities to bring this thing back to a nice runner.

282853_10151050680705856_211053868_n.jpg

Those little 6s in the Mustangs were really good motors very tough little motors and will last a long time.

Does the car have any rot in it in the quarter panels?

The floor pans are out there at a lot of vendors and are good and match up with the original.

I had a 66 and it looked really good till we stripped the paint. Someone screwed the quarters on and had to fix that, but all the panels are out there.

Are you looking to charger by the hour or by the job?

Are you looking to charger by the hour or by the job?

I think that's what he's wanting opinions on. How are the other members that do work on the side like this charging for their labor time?