Paint question. Please help.

-

Badart

Reaction score
This is my first time shooting a metallic. It is a summit paint acrylic urethane metallic and the color is a dark candy apple red metallic. I will be shooting their clear tommorrow. I sprayed this this morning and it is baking right now. The paint shot great with no runs, but I do have quite a few paint boogers on it. I am sure it is from me not cleaning the tip enough.

My question is normally I would wet sand this area the touch it up, but I have heard that you don't want to do that with a metallic. What would you do? Just shoot 3 coats of clear over it? Wet sand it with 400 then reshoot the whole car? Please help. Here is a pic.

Paint5.jpg

You could wet sand that with 1500 or better and probably be OK, it depends on how much metallic is in there. Why are you waiting till tomorrow to clear?

So I could sand it with 1500 and then shoot the clear without recoating? The only reason why I would wait until tommorrow morning is because it is cooler. It is hot hot hot outside right now. The paint has a recoat window of 18 hours so I should be alright.

yeah I would wetsand w/1500 and then clear it. What is it? just something in the paint? if it is noticeable you might want to reshoot that panel after you sand it.

I usually wait until it dries and wet sand with 600 or even 800,1000 and respray it.1500 or finer seems to clog up alot with base.Have you checked your air line?Air Line filters?I had this happen a few times and it was crap coming from the compressor.A filter on the spray gun helps also .I bought one of those filters that attatch to the spray gun and it solved it=)