paint question

-

slantscamp

Reaction score
i have a dumb question. i painted my engine bay, but i noticed a few spots that i sprayed lightly. i guess i didnt see it when i painted it. i already cleared it but im not happy with it. can i juse wetsand it and reshoot it. would i have to do the whole thing over again? and what grit paper would i use. thanks for the help.
-aaron-

sure...wet sand 1500 grit respray....I am not an expert painter but should be fine....anybody else???????

I would wet sand the whole thing with 600 grit. I would then scuff the little nooks you missed or can't get into with sandpaper with a Scotchbrite pad. Blow it off, wipe it down with Final Clean, and tack it. Spray your light spots with color until covered, then shoot a coat of color over the whole thing, then clear it.
Dallas

Wet sand and wipe clean:read2: Fog on another coat of color and lay some clear back on.:cheers: Just keep your sand paper clean and don't apply pressure sanding if it is very fresh. scuff pad is your friend like MOBodyman said.

thanks guys. i painted it a few months back. i just never noticed the spots i missed untill the other day. it must have been the light or something. the paint is a light blue so i must have just missed it. im getting ready to put the motor back in and i want everything to look good. thanks!
-aaron-

I would wet sand the whole thing with 600 grit. I would then scuff the little nooks you missed or can't get into with sandpaper with a Scotchbrite pad. Blow it off, wipe it down with Final Clean, and tack it. Spray your light spots with color until covered, then shoot a coat of color over the whole thing, then clear it.
Dallas

I agree, 1500 is way to fine. 800 grit is as far as I would finish before paint and that fine enough to put a shine on primer... scarey, lol

I agree, 1500 is way to fine. 800 grit is as far as I would finish before paint and that fine enough to put a shine on primer... scarey, lol