Pinion angle?

-

71scamp78

Reaction score
74 Challenger I swapped in a Gen 3 hemi and 8 speed now have a pretty bad drivetrain vibration. The engine/trans in angled down 2.5 front to back. The drive shaft is 1.9 down front to back. The pinion is .5 up . Any suggestions how much to shim and up or down . Or do u think its not the problem . It's a leaf spring car

Last edited:
74 Challenger I swapped in a Gen 3 hemi and 8 speed now have a pretty bad drivetrain vibration. The engine/trans in angled down 2.4 front to back. The drive shaft is 1.9 down front to back. The pinion is .5 up . Any suggestions how much to shim and up or down . Or do u think its not the problem . It's a leaf spring car
I set me Duster up equal but opposite as directed by my driveline shop. Check the angle that your trans tail shaft is down and set your pinion up the same angle. I bought a digital angle gauge that is magnetic on the bottom and it worked real slick. I have no vibrations but I’m no expert. Just what I did on my 72 duster.

Jim

I set me Duster up equal but opposite as directed by my driveline shop. Check the angle that your trans tail shaft is down and set your pinion up the same angle. I bought a digital angle gauge that is magnetic on the bottom and it worked real slick. I have no vibrations but I’m no expert. Just what I did on my 72 duster.

Jim
Trans tail is down 2.4 degrees and pinion is up .5

Sound like the pinion needs to come up 1.9 then, based on how I was told to set mine up. I didn’t know if you meant inches or degrees.

All angles are relative to the ground-plane right?
the pinion must ALWAYS be nose-down relative to BOTH the ground-plane and to the driveshaft.
because, as you apply power, the pinion will climb upwards and may end up nose up which is bad.
How much nose down, depends on the springs ability to resist the upwards rotation. Seven degrees is common for a stout V8, in a factory chassis, even with SuperStock springs.. ... depending on the input power.