Popping through exhaust during deceleration

-

dartsport74

Reaction score
I'm trying to get a straight answer from someone with experience, this is my first build with this much horsepower. The car pulls great, but when I let off the throttle The car pops pretty loud and even will shoot a little fire out of the muffler. I don't like the popping and can't imagine it's great for this to happen all the time. How is best way to rectify this. My spark plus look like I'm running pretty rich, but I've read that the after firing is actually a sign of a well tuned engine but others say it's too rich and still others say it's lean, any experience/advice is much appreciated.

The engine is a 400 stroked to a 512, about 12.5 to 1 compression, 680 lift comp cam, Indy top end fully ported and a Dominator 1150 reworked by Pro systems.
Thanks again

An exhaust leak could cause the popping, but the unburned fuel is probably the main culprit here and that could very well be from late timing and/or way rich both.
It's hard to believe it's too lean if the plugs show rich.

When this happened with my brand new build, it was too rich. Do you have an air/fuel ratio meter? Are you hitting the brakes hard or just gradual slowdown? Sometimes hard braking can slosh fuel into the carb from the back bowl air vent.

An exhaust leak could cause the popping, but the unburned fuel is probably the main culprit here and that could very well be from late timing and/or way rich both.
It's hard to believe it's too lean if the plugs show rich.
I'll check timing next, Thank you your help

When this happened with my brand new build, it was too rich. Do you have an air/fuel ratio meter? Are you hitting the brakes hard or just gradual slowdown? Sometimes hard braking can slosh fuel into the carb from the back bowl air vent.
Just letting of the gas not applying brakes, no I don't have an air fuel ratio meter.