Powetrax lock right issues

-

TimDart

Reaction score
Just had this fitted to my 8.75 rear;
http://www.richmondgear.com/powertrax/lockright2.html

It clanks going round corners and as i straighten it gives off quite a bang. No probs going in a straight line. I'm new to LSDs (no jokes) so not sure what to expect.

Its pretty basic and having looked more closely at the Richmond gear website i might have selcted the race/strip version.

Wonder if you engineer types could check the link and give me an opinion?

That's what's considered a locker, not a limited slip. That noise is normal for this type of diff. :) It's great for racing but not so much fun in the city.

TimDart. I have a Richmond Full Locker in my '65 Valiant (360, 727, 8 3/4).
If you drive it like an open rear around corners you'll have that problem. Just
have a heavy foot on the straights. In the instructions I received with mine these very issues were noted. LML (love my locker).

Aaah! Thanks guys. Looks like i clicked on the wrong item when i bought it! wasn't looking for something quite so agricultural.
Besides the clacking going 'round corners, is it normal to have a bit of a bang as i hit the gas as i straighten out?
Goes fine in a straight line and chirps the tyres thru gear changes without effort.

This is my first experience with an lsd/locker of any kind so any advice/commentary appreciated as ever.

Lockers like yours have springs and gears instead of springs and clutchs in a limited slip. That is why it pops and bangs. When you hear the bang it is locking the gears. They are great for going in a straight line because there is no slipping to the wheels. I am installing a detroit locker in mine this winter. I can live with the noise. I think they are cool.