Proper method for determining bearing clearances?

-

ValiantOne

Reaction score
I'm going to start assy on my 5.9 magnum this weekend. I have my bearings from Hughes, prepped block and polished crank.

I am aware of plastigauge, but don't have any. What I do have is a full set of inside and outside micrometers, snap gauges, gauge blocks, dial bore gauge, etc (I am a machinist, just not automotive)

I am guessing that I put my bearings in place, torque to spec, take several readings around the circumference, then measure the rod/main journal and do the math.

Is that about right?

Thanks for any pointers.

CE

I would think that the most important directions are parallel and perpendicular to the joint face... (top and sides)...

But yeah, torque to spec and then measure with micrometers...

Plastic gauge is easy, they should have some at the parts store - get the green one if you go that direction...

I'm going to start assy on my 5.9 magnum this weekend. I have my bearings from Hughes, prepped block and polished crank.

I am aware of plastigauge, but don't have any. What I do have is a full set of inside and outside micrometers, snap gauges, gauge blocks, dial bore gauge, etc (I am a machinist, just not automotive)

I am guessing that I put my bearings in place, torque to spec, take several readings around the circumference, then measure the rod/main journal and do the math.

Is that about right?

Thanks for any pointers.

CE
Summit Racing sells it as does napa. i paid 1.99 for mine

Is that about right?

Thanks for any pointers.

CE

Tighten them once and leave them tightened until you are ready to assemble... Every time you torque the bolts/nuts they stretch...

They recommend only 5 clamp cycles on each bolt before replacing... If you replace the rod bolts, you need to recondition that end...

Keep them secure in case you need to re-check your readings later...

If he's a machinist, he may prefer using micrometers...