Questions about a 2006 5.7

-

Dart fan

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I have a lead on a 2006 5.7 with transmission with 60k on it. Its in a magnum .
I'm think about installing it in my 67 dart .
Is there anything I should be concerned with ?
I've been following this section of the forum but I'm a little behind on this.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Any history? Hopefully you can hear it run and maybe even drive it. Otherwise could be a crap shoot so a lowball offer should be considered. Early ones susceptible to dropped valve seats.

You're probably well aware of the trans tunnel and T-bar crossmember chop, cut and puree.

60k its in a running driving car .
Starts right up sounds good . Asking price is $2500.
I'm fairly new to the swap idea.
I was starting to research the idea.
This deal just popped up . Sounded like something I should jump on for the future

60k its in a running driving car .
Starts right up sounds good . Asking price is $2500.
I'm fairly new to the swap idea.
I was starting to research the idea.
This deal just popped up . Sounded like something I should jump on for the future

Oil filter will need to be relocated if using stock k member, front accessory drive will also interfere, specifically the alternator, this can be remedied with a front accessory drive from a Ram truck. Then there is exhaust and surely a number of other issues, but those are the first ones that come to mind. I have not done this myself, but have seriously looked into it.

Thanks
I appreciate any and all information.

Modified the K frame to use the car timing cover. Alternator is tight. Best fix for that is to machine the alternator mounting surface about .060"- .080".

Hemi1.jpg

See if you can find a pair of the later aluminum heads. They are much better and will work on the 03-08 blocks.

Too much money for a pre Eagle head engine.
Dropped valve seats are a problem on early 5.7.