Rebuild or leave trans?

-

DartVadar

Reaction score
I am adding some power to my motor and adding some 3.91 gears to the rear of my 73 dart, and just started thinking about the transmission. The trans is a 999 with a low first and second gears. My old 360 had mid to high 300s for power, I really am just putting in a bigger cam (hydo flat tappet to solid roller) so It will probably have a tad over 400HP. Last time when I put it in the only thing that I changed with the trans was add a transgo tf2 shift kit, otherwise the trans was stock as far as I know.

The transmission shifted really nice and firm, and it never slipped or anything, seemed to run just like it should and easily handled the power (no racing but some spirited street driving). Because it ran good before and I am not adding a ton more power should I just leave it as is and run it again? Or should I rebuild it first? from what I've been reading they are pretty easy transmission to rebuild, but I've never done it before.

My buddy ran the same set up for years and put about 40,000 miles on his with some track time and I think he is still using it in a different car.

These cars are mighty light. Some people don't like the low first gear set with short gears. It's almost too much on the bottom and a big jump from one to two. IF you have it freshened up, you might consider the stock first gear set. The A999 with the low first gear was made for the pig 5th Avenue that had like 2.45 rear gears. Your car is really light in comparison, plus you're going to a 3.91. Just food for thought.

These cars are mighty light. Some people don't like the low first gear set with short gears. It's almost too much on the bottom and a big jump from one to two. IF you have it freshened up, you might consider the stock first gear set. The A999 with the low first gear was made for the pig 5th Avenue that had like 2.45 rear gears. Your car is really light in comparison, plus you're going to a 3.91. Just food for thought.