Rebuild

-

chongo25

Reaction score
I starting to look into rebuilding the old slant 6 just because there is no telling how many actual miles are on it and fix all the leaks with oil ect. My question is how should I do it. My goal is to slap a 4 barrel on and get a cam, headers and all the stuff that goes with it. Should I get it bored for this? Im really new to this engine stuff so I have no idea. Just trying to understand and do it way that is smart and not wasting my money on stuff I dont need.

Also what should a rebuild cost? I was quoted 3k with: Balancing, valve job, Magna Flux and some other stuff. It was over the phone so i don't have a list in front of me that would include all the stuff being done. I was told 1500 would be on a high side from others before calling this place, but 3k caught me by surprised.

I suggest you get ahold of some local fabo members for recommendations for machine shop. get a mopar performance engine building book, read it and become knowledgable about the basics of blueprinting your engine and what a shop can do. don't let them think "the sky is the limit" or you might have a stupidly high build cost. read on here and slantsix.org about the rebuild subject.
and be realistic about what the engine will do, ie, mileage, drag race, run good, longi=evity???? etc.
to know what you engine needs , you or the shop has to determine the wear in the cylinders. maybe a hone will be adequate? find out their costs for each part of a rebuild, don't just throw them the engine and say do it!?
maybe your engine has been rebuilt some years back and just needs new gasket? some basic tests can tell you something about the condition, ie compression, leakdown, vacuum, etc.....